Colorado @ Columbus - Game Thought - Colorado Avalanche Updates, News and Game Reviews at Avs Talk

Sunday, December 6, 2009

Colorado @ Columbus - Game Thought

That's right, I only have one thought on the win against Columbus. And it nearly caused my head to asplode.

With about 15 seconds left in a 3-2 hockey game, Columbus appeared to tie the game with a Jason Chimera wraparound. However after one glance at the replay, it was clear that the puck did not go between the posts. Instead, it went in under the side of the net after it got jostled by Scott Hannan.

Or at least, I thought it only took one glance. The Columbus announcers however spent the entire review period calling it a good call. Their rationale, which they stated with exuberance nearly a dozen times? To paraphrase: "That was a goal. The net was dislodged, not displaced. And there's a difference. The net can be dislodged, and it's still a goal. Displaced? No goal. But clearly, the net was only dislodged."

When the ruling came back that it was no goal because the puck didn't go between the pipes there was five seconds of silence followed by this exchange:
Announcer 1: That's their rule.
Announcer 2: Why?!
Announcer 1: Because it did not go between the two posts is what they're saying.

Those tricky, century old rules are a bitch, eh? They then talked about it some more and even tossed in that there should have been a minor penalty what with the way the net was dislodged. They clearly decided to throw out the dislodged vs displaced logic there but logic is only useful when it's convenient, right?

I feel like I rag on announcers more than I give them credit, but this was flat out awful. They should feel embarrassed at not having understood what it takes to score a goal. You know, the most important part of the game they're calling...


Jibblescribbits said...

Wait.. so you're saying that a goal is when it goes between the posts, and the net fixture is only there to:

a) stop the puck
b) help the refs more easily determine whether it's a goal or not.

that's just crazy talk.

Sean Payton said...

Unfortunately, this is a widespread phenomena across many of the league's broadcast teams. I recently heard Minnesota's crew saying in a game against Anaheim: "The Wild goal will count even if the net was dislodged before the puck went in, because it was knocked off by an Anaheim player."
That, of course, is incorrect.

Dario said...

Between the Columbus Dispatch and that announcing crew, I'm not sure how the Columbus fans are supposed to get any objective analysis. That's

Shane Giroux said...

I wonder if a puck had gone between the posts but right through the netting, if they would argue that since it didn't come to rest in the net it was clearly no goal.

rboulding said...

These are the same folks, no doubt, who perpetuated the stories about Foote manufacturing his return to the Avs and all of that BS.

Jed said...

I am very happy that center ice has carried almost every Avs game on both feeds this year. I don't care how bad people think Altitude is, I will pick it over ANY other broadcast choice.

somebody said...


Post a Comment